Going to See the Elephant: Our Duty as Storytellers & The trigger: What Gives Rise to a Story?

 Creating Fiction 

Thinking About Fiction

My thoughts on the first two sections of Thinking About Fiction: The sections are full of good advice. I enjoyed both sections but I liked The Trigger best. There are many, many lines I could quote, lines that kept me thinking and wondering and thinking again that writing about anything is possible if we can find the right touch, the right words and the right way to do it. 

 Experience and invention is a part of the section that I liked and motivated me in a way. The fact that sometimes I’m not sure if it’s better to base the fiction story on experience or to let the imagination flow and invent a complete story. “What if . . .” I think that’s something worth to try. 

 Writing about the strongest reactions we have had, using guided imaginary or just imaginary elements if we can’t have them guided. Basically anything can trigger a story.

The ashtray. That part was surprising. If I try to do the same and I start a story with the red candle in front of the window on a winter day -that is the first thing I can see when looking up, what would it happen? Would I come up with a story? A story about what? Maybe the important thing is to think of what’s next, the next sentence and the next one and at some point I would have a paragraph and finally a story.

  And finally, not all works well or the same for all the writers. That’s quite logical as there are different learning styles.

About Susan Fourtané

As a citizen of the world, Susan began her search for her place in the world back at the beginning of the year 2000. After many travels looking for her place in the world, her soul found that place in Finland in September 2006. She has been living in Helsinki ever since, where she combines fiction and non-fiction writing with Philosophy studies and teaching.
This entry was posted in Essays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

