Breathing Joy Through Art

My soul and thoughts are behind my work. I am my work!” says Pirjo Hassinen whose paintings transmit joy and happiness to the viewer.

PIRJO HASSINEN can be described as an artist who represents the movement of mind and thought on canvas. She believes we have to make good choices. “By making the right choices we can all contribute to make the world a better place to live.”

Hassinen’s acrylic paintings are pieces of water, earth, air and fire. They are her magic world of happy thoughts and bright colors.

“I dress up in training trousers, woolen socks, an old worn yellow and beloved training jacket and – I think!” She says smiling. “I have to make it visible what I feel, what I think. I think my way and make my choices hoping that someone can understand my language.”

Hassinen is interested in nature, the environment, friendship and all things positive. Her paintings and drawings are a mirror to a kind and sensitive artist. They transmit joy, brightness and happiness to the viewer.

Animals’ Life, Windy, Fish, Sea Horses are names of Hassinen’s works. “When I finish a new work, I look at it, and the painting talks to me telling what it is. What could this be? – Donald Duck! That is how I name my paintings.”

According to Hassinen, Art speaks to canvas, to the paper through the hands, eyes and thoughts of the artist. Art is a window to the soul, heart and mind of the creator.

“Someone who walks with the brisk steps sees the beams of the rising sun!” is an old proverb her mother used to say and one that she is particularly attached to.

Pirjo Hassinen has been representing Finnish Art for almost two decades. Her exhibitions have been seen in Finland, Sweden, Portugal and Brazil. In September her exhibition will be present in Valencia, Spain.

The exhibition Pikku Buddha will be open to the public at the Ant Gallery in Töölö, Helsinki, until 23 May.

SUSAN FOURTANE
HELSINKI TIMES

-Published on the Helsinki Times on May 14th, 2008

http://www.helsinkitimes.fi

About Susan Fourtané

As a citizen of the world, Susan began her search for her place in the world back at the beginning of the year 2000. After many travels looking for her place in the world, her soul found that place in Finland in September 2006. She has been living in Helsinki ever since, where she combines fiction and non-fiction writing with Philosophy studies and teaching.
This entry was posted in Helsinki Times, Published Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

